Giving Back to My Community

I live in a small community. In my community, we take care of our own and support each other. Within my community, I go to a church called Millington Church of God. Within that church, both my mom and my sister carry out jobs that service both the young children and the teens in the church. This past semester had been particularly rough for me so I found myself at home a lot. This is when my service started.

I decided that if I was coming home I wanted to be serving alongside my family. I volunteered my time with the youth kids so I could help mentor them. I found that I really liked volunteering my time with the kids. They go through similar things that I went through and I feel as if I can help them. They also think I am really cool since I am in college so that helps me connect with them.

This helped me make more connections for when I am at home. I feel I am really making a difference in a community I grew up in that helped me become who I am. I have already committed to going on different youth retreats to chaperone and help them grow together. This is my new community and I love it very much. Not only do I get to work with kids, which I love doing, I also get to work alongside my mom and sister and grow with them in a different, adult way. I am connected and it is honestly a really good feeling.

By serving in this youth group I learned that I am never done being a mentor and I get to mentor an awesome group of kids. I have learned so much from being in my position and it has inspired me to become more involved with mentoring programs. Although I am not sure where I want to mentor, I know that it is in my future.

 

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑