HST 110L Reflection

Taking this history class was part of protocol for my leadership scholarship and I was very confused what this class had to teach us how to be better leaders. I soon found out that this class was meant to inform us about racial stereotypes throughout history and how it has shaped the world today. I had always thought I knew so much about history but this was a topic that was never touched in a history class I had ever had before, and I can see why. This class started out with talking about the famine in Ireland in 1800s and everything that had resulted in a large portion of the population in Ireland immigrating to the United States during that entire century and how people who were not American were never given the same respect and opportunities that Americans were given.

In our textbook there were different essays and some cases that were brought to court that we went into depth and studied. We would go into groups and study it for part of the class time and then present it to the class. Since this was a three hour class we were able to split up the different sections to different groups and get through a whole chapter a class. Then our professor would ask the groups questions about what they read and then would go further into explanation about something that either wasn’t in the book or something that we had missed and always relate it back to leadership training. It was very interesting to see how even hundreds years ago being a leader helped shape the world to what it is today. I understand now why this class was a part of our protocol and I know I have a better understanding on what I was supposed to take from this class. For me, personally, it was even more of a validation that anyone can be a leader. They do not have to follow some sort of stereotype, for example, how they look or how they are as an individual.

Leave a Reply

