Tess Holliday: Leader 2016

When first given the topic of writing about a leader that I feel has inspired me and others not one person stood out among the rest until just now while I was scrolling through instagram. Throughout this past election and even before that this person, Tess Holliday, has been sharing her opinions and her beliefs about what she stands for. When I think of a leader I automatically think of someone who is able to do what she is doing and reaching people who think the same.

Tess Holliday is a plus size model and a body positive ambassador. I found Tess on instagram over a year ago when I myself was just starting to get to love my body. For me Tess was someone who I could look up to because of all the accomplishments she’s made. Tess was born in Mississippi on July 5, 1985. All throughout her life she has had to overcome many obstacles for example, being bullied. I think that it is amazing to see how far she’s come and what she has accomplished and it is something for young girls to be able to look up to as a role model.

Tess started modeling for a plus size clothing store called Torrid which is actually a company that I work for. I walked into work one day and saw her face on a poster we were hanging up in the window for everyone to see and I was awestruck. Tess Holliday is by no means what some people consider a leader but I do consider her a leader. I think that she’s someone that is paving a way for men and women of all sizes to be able to step up to the plate and promote self love and do it in a way that reaches everyone.

“Never compare yourself to others and celebrate what makes you, you” – Tess Holliday

Being a leader is being a voice for people who don’t have a voice. Tess is the voice for many people that it’s ok to love yourself and that other people cannot be your validation for being accepted into society. It’s ok to be weird, or quirky, or look different than everyone else. As long as you love you, people will accept you.

I want to be someone who encourages people to be themselves and to love themselves. I know what if feels like to not love yourself and it’s a scary and dark place. In the future and also now I want to be able to help people avoid that dark and scary place to see the light.

tess-holliday-435     #EffYourBeautyStandards

 

Leave a Reply

