Debate Reflection

This was an interesting class to say the least. This was a class that was required to take for LAS unless you had something that was equal to it. I was very nervous for this class simply because I had never taken anything like debate in high school or something that was even similar to it and I had nothing to base the class off of. And I had thought that this class was going to just be everyone arguing and that it was going to be out of control and that made me nervous coming into the class. But having half of my cohort in there with me definitely made me feel less nervous because I knew that we were going to be able to respect each other and also take it easy on each other.

We did three debates throughout the semester. The first one was a practice debate which was in the style of a parliamentary debate. My group of five ended up doing the first debate for all three debates every time. But the second debate was the real parliamentary debate and our topic was raising the legal driving age to 18. I was on the government side which meant that I was for raising it. I found that every topic we chose to debate on I ended up on the side that I was on the side I didn’t agree with. This made things harder but it gave me a different perspective on the topic. For our last debate we did a Lincoln-Douglas debate and in this one after the government does their first constructive the opposing side gets to ask them questions and vise versa. Our topic was that the legal drinking age should be lowered to 18 in the U.S. This was a very hard topic to debate since I believe that it should NOT be lowered. This was my personal favorite debate because I liked being asked the questions for whatever reason. I felt that it gave me a chance to discuss more in depth things that I did not have on my research or that I didn’t get a chance to discuss more.

Overall the class was definitely not the worst class I’ve had to take this semester. I feel like I learned a lot from this class and can now use these correct debating techniques in the future for whatever reason I need to. I did find it harder though to remember the actual lecture material. Having debate for and hour and fifteen minutes for a 9:30AM class came with many challenges. There were some classes I had to find something to do to just keep myself awake and I had to study twice as hard for the quizzes and the exams because I wasn’t able to completely comprehend them in class. Of course this wasn’t every class but there were a handful of them. I feel that Dr. Professor Cory Anthony Hillman was a good teacher for our class and that he knew how to deal with the LAS kids because he’s had other cohorts before.

Overall this was a good class to take and I can relate it back to leadership in so many different ways.

Leave a Reply

