Mentor/Mentee Retreat

If I was told to choose one word to describe the mentor/mentee retreat I wouldn’t be able to. The different emotions that I felt during that weekend were too many to count. I did a lot of things that I normally wouldn’t have done, I got to spend some time with my mentor, Garrett, and I got to be with my cohort all at one time, which was honestly the first time we had all been together.

To be completely honest, I was not looking forward to this retreat at first. Garrett had made the mistake of telling me about the high ropes course and being someone who has a phobia of heights this was not good. I couldn’t mentally prepare myself this, even though I had known about it for months, but I just couldn’t wrap my head around it. And to add on my anxiety was through the roof during the whole retreat, but I held it back and didn’t let it out until I had gotten home on Sunday. But when it came to actually doing the course I had gained enough strength mentally to at least try it. So as I was putting on the gear and I was psyching myself up for this course. Garrett had suggested we climb up the ladder that is wooden and just goes straight up and down and I agreed because that seemed like the best option. So he went up first, like a pro, and then it was my turn and I started climbing. I was good until about half way up until I realized exactly how far up I was. So I managed to make it to the top of the ladder which for me was such a big milestone seeing as I wasn’t even going to try. So I think that was the biggest accomplishment from the retreat for me.

But bringing it back I got to be with all of my cohort for two whole days! Seeing that this was the first time we were all together it was amazing. I definitely feel closer and more comfortable with my cohort which is a really good feeling. I’m not always one to talk in group chat or go and just start conversations with people because I just assume people don’t want to talk to me, but that’s just something stems from my anxiety and I’m getting over that. I feel bonded with my cohort and I just feel so blessed to be in such an accepting group of people.

I can’t wait until next year when I get to have that experience with my mentee. I know I have a little bit before I have to think about that, but it will probably come a lot sooner than it seems.

img_5752

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

